So I’ve seen heaven, and aside from the obvious that it is the dwelling place of God, it comes via DB and a dude in an Edible Arrangements truck to my house. Heaven = chocolate covered strawberries and chocolate covered pineapple.* YUM. I think the arrangement was supposed to feed a few people, but I have managed to polish off most of it on my very very own. I mean, seriously, who knew that the combination could be so addictive? I’ve never had such a spread of fruit placed in front of me with no other competition!

DB is the best husband EVER. Can I just say that? I mean, he’d be the best husband ever even if he didn’t send chocolate-covered fruit, but chocolate-covered fruit is a good reminder about his bestness in his absence…long, long, long absence. PAINFULLY long absence.

Sorry I have been a little AWOL with the blog lately. It’s been a busy time, and although I “blog” a lot in my head, I haven’t had the time to sit down and write about much. As noted above, DB is still on his gig, and will be for the next 47 days, 7 hours, and 46 minutes (not that I’m counting or anything). Thankfully, he can call home free of charge, and we talk twice a day (but I only count once a day, because the first call is at 6:00 am and I *never* remember what we say, although apparently I’m funny at that hour). My happiest happiest HAPPIEST moments are when he calls and I can walk Little at the same time. I feel so productive, and so energetic outside, and it kind of feels like we’re walking Little together. Yes, cheesy. I’m all about the cheese these days.

Last weekend, I had the pleasure (and I mean that in all seriousness) of watching my much younger little brother row in a high school rowing race in Philadelphia. I coxed in college, and rowed/coxed a little bit in high school, and it was such a total blast from the past being at the race, watching the boats come down, and tromping through the mud in the rain. I loved it! It was awesome seeing my little brother row, too, although they didn’t do as well as they’d have liked (although that is so not the point of the race, it IS nice to succeed at it. Rowing is a really tough sport with crazy hours, and it’s nice to see all that hard work pay off…)

I have a whole post composed in my head of my observations of that race, and I will write it shortly. Stay tuned. I’ll even add pictures.

And…yesterday, I finished the second semester of my coursework toward a doctoral degree in public health. Most of the reason that I haven’t written much about the FBI recently is because I perseverate on two main things, for the most part: having kids, and my career. DB’s career is pretty much set, and he’s doing pretty well with it, if I do say so myself. I’m thrilled for him that he’s found a career that he likes as much as he does – he’s been quite the jack of all trades for a while. The FBI is a good place to be if you’re into lots of different things (it’s also a good place to be if you’re into one thing and one thing only. However, the one thing required by the FBI is to be flexible. It can be a challenge for agents and families – the need to be flexible. However, that is a separate post for a separate time.)

(As an aside, I received my very first email from someone asking more questions about the FBI about a month ago. I was PSYCHED! I will probably answer some of her questions in another post soon…they were all good ones.)

So obsessions: Operation Baby and Operation Find a Life. Operation Baby is another post, again for another time, although I will probably write it soon. I haven’t decided if it will be password-protected or not. I’ll explain a bit here: although there are many, many, many reasons we wanted to adopt, some of which are described here previously, chief among them are my medical situation, which is not exactly optimal for fetal development, and our family history of autism spectrum disorders. I feel incredibly blessed that my career with kids and families on the spectrum has really given me an eye-opening perspective on the disorder, but at the same time, it’s raised so many questions about whether we feel comfortable taking the risk that any child we create biologically will potentially have an autism spectrum disorder. I want to write something that will articulate some of my (our) thoughts on this subject, and although I want to write something that will elicit feedback from others in our situation, I also need to be sensitive to the fact that this is the internet, and things I write will be seen by lots of unknown people – and these are our family members. So after all of that, if you’d like the password, please let me know. I know some of you out there will ask (Jen * a million – if your name is Jen I probably know about your desire for the password, Liz…WOW…most of my readers are named Jen!) but just let me know if you’re interested. If I have no idea who you are, don’t be shy. I adore hearing from people.

Operation Find a Life…well, this, of course, goes hand-in-hand with Operation Baby. I’ve mentioned a few times that I am a doctoral student in public health. I had a number of reservations coming into the program, but I decided to cast those aside and pursue the degree whole-heartedly. I am a little sad to report that, after two full semesters in this program, I am increasingly uneasy about continuing my education here. I think it’s possible to stop now, get a master’s degree (I don’t really know about this one – I have to check on it), and pursue either a job or another career track. I do have another master’s degree – the one that I’ve been working under all of this time – but I’ve always felt in my heart that I want to pursue another clinical degree. Therefore, I am taking a few undergraduate-level (yes, undergrads. As in there are 19-year olds in my class. Just two words on that: pride.swallowing.) summer courses to test these waters. Last week I managed the doctoral-level classes with the undergrad class, and it was just such a bipolar experience. Now I just have one class of young ‘uns to manage. Should be fun, although I feel REEEEEEAALLLLLY old. Ahh. The things we do in pursuit of crazy career changes.

SO….the point of this was to say that a) I’m not dead, but I’m being eaten alive by sprightly young undergrads in a chemistry lab, b) I am officially capable of doing some statistical analyses and talking about various epidemics, c) DB is tired, but alive, too, and d) I will be blogging more soon. Topics to be covered this week include (I promise):

1) Observations of a high school rowing race: So you wanna cox? How to navigate a 60-foot torpedo down a river without killing ANYone;
2) Reflections on Autism Spectrum Disorders;
3) All that you wanted to know, part II, about being married to the FBI;
4) Still pondering whether to write this: Biblical marriage. I am the least qualified person in the world to write this, but I’ve been getting a lot of questions about it, so maybe I’ll just give it a shot. Leave me a note in the comments if you want to read what I have to say about it.

I think that’s it. Don’t worry, I won’t really have anything to write about the chem lab. I am not exactly sure what I’m supposed to be knowing about chemistry, but I hope that’s just because it’s the beginning of the semester!

Peace,

rach 🙂

*PS Duh, I realize that food is not heaven.  If you take offense at this please do not tell me about it.  Thanks!

