So for the first time in my little blogging career, I was tagged by Nicki for this book meme. Thanks Nicki! So here’s what I’m supposed to do:

1. Grab the nearest book.
2. Open it to page 56.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.
5. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the cool book, or the intellectual one: pick the CLOSEST.

OK, I will admit that I contemplated cheating because my book is the most boring thing EVER. It just so happens that I am sitting on my couch next to my bio book, with the hope that I will actually OPEN and UTILIZE said bio book (hasn’t happened yet, but this meme is inspiring some progress). Hey – at least it isn’t the physics book, right?

So the 5th sentence of the 56th page:

“In the simplest case, a protein with quaternary structure can consist of just two subunits that are identical.” Oh, yeah! THRILLING! That is from Chapter 3, Protein Synthesis and Function, in Freeman’s textbook: Biological Science: Third Edition.

Just for kicks, I was wondering what I would have had to write had I had the other textbook next to me (the textbook from the Very Boring Class) – this book is kind of basic and insulting. I guess it’s not if you haven’t taken the class a few times already, but I digress. That sentence is funny because it just highlights my issues with the class and the book. Check out this bombshell:

“Next we must consider whether we will have any additional resources, such as research funds or other researchers to collaborate with.”

A) no kidding! Really?

B) Dangling participles drive me insane.

Anyway, so now we know why I am getting snacks in the middle of lecture.

(From Schutt, R.K,, Investigating the social world: The process and practice of research.)

Oh, now I get to tag 3 other people – that is very exciting, too. I will tag Liz, Jen, and although they are busy being thankful, Mel and/or Ali. I would tag the Christines, too, but I think one of them is not near a computer and the other one does not write on her blog, but if either of you read this, feel free to participate!

Cheers!

P.S. Thankful for books. So many books that we have them piled up to the ceiling, literally, books.

