How’s THAT for anti-climactic?

I guess they walked this week, or last week.  I got an email saying that I could pick up my diploma now, and I know it wasn’t available until after the ceremony…

I actually did not want to walk, but DB thought after the hell of the last (X) years, I should – apparently we settled that one.

It happened without my knowledge.

(If this was really important to me, I could walk in June, but – surprise – it is not.  Important, I mean.  It wasn’t important to me before, and it is *really* not important to me now.)

In other news, the dog is pooping regularly (phew), I am still in a lot of pain, but the blood loss has slowed (I’m sure you all wanted to know that), and this morning is my first morning all by myself since last Wednesday, when our little world fell apart.

(In between, DB has stayed home, or my friend has come over in the afternoons – she has a crazy work schedule.)  (I am so insanely fortunate.) (And yes, I’ve blown off my job for the last week.  Lame job, at home.  One of the (few) benefits.)

I am going to try to study for a Bio exam.  It is actually interesting – finally! – but the professor seems to have a thing for the effect of pregnancy on various body systems, and you know what?  It’s just hard.

We are going to try to go out on a date tonight, if I can make it down the stairs and to our car without gasping for breath.  (How dramatic can I be?  In fairness, I sound like I have run a marathon after going up the stairs.  I assume after my body acclimates to the blood loss, I will no longer sound like a 70-year old with emphysema.)  I don’t know where we’ll go.  I have to say, I am looking forward to it.  A lot.

Or we might end up eating fondue at home.  With WINE.

Yup, still looking forward to it.

(P.S.  And yes, this is really a *date*.  Like, picture high school.  Lest you be thinking there is something exciting occurring afterward – oh, no, silly people.  Got 5 more weeks to go before that is even a possibility.)

(And now my poor husband is going to crawl under a rock.  Let’s not tell him I wrote that.)

(In total honesty, that is the last thing on my mind right now.  For the next 15 years.)

(P.P.S.  I texted DB the news that, apparently, I graduated.  He wrote back, “Oh really?  Congratulations!  What did you get me?  It is customary in graduate school for graduates to buy loved ones a gift.”

So funny, that man!)

