I have a lot to say about 2009 H1N1 virus. I call it “pig flu”.  Because I’m funny really original like that.  Hee hee.

However, I thought the best thing would just be to post this link.  Go ahead, click it:

Do I Have Swine Flu?

That way, you can decide whether to go to work/take an airplane/sit in class/stay in a home-cave with a mask for emergency grocery store trips.

In all honesty, I do hope and pray that this flu is not a repeat of 1918.  In my (fairly worthless) opinion, I do believe it is a bit overblown at this point, and I hope I am right.  I *do* think that, should it spread to high-density areas of the world that are completely ill-equipped to deal with a virus, it might be devastating.  But so far, given the slow spread of cases (and the very low death rate – 0% in this country, discounting the toddler in Texas who died after being brought to Brownsville from Mexico), I am dubious.

I feel very terrible for the pig farmers in Egypt.  I think that is one of the most tragic stories of this flu.  What a senseless loss.

